6 Responses to “On workflows, openRaw and DNG”

  1. J Dickon Glanville Says:

    Hello vivosz,

    I’ve found this blog very interesting. Thanks for sharing.

    In a couple of your posts, you’ve talked about trying to replicate your photo workflow from windows to ubuntu. I would find it very interesting if you would share your current windows workflow and toolset with us. It’s always nice to see where people are coming from

    JDG

  2. vivosz Says:

    Ok, here is my workflow:
    In most of the cases, i shoot raw. I also use a portable hard drive with a built in card reader. During travels, when i run out of cardspace, i copy the full cards to the hard drive, and use them again. From a security point of view, it is risky (all the photos on a single drive), but have no better solution yet.
    When i copy the contents of cards/hdd to the computer, i copy them to two separate hard disks, to have a backup of the originals. Then I convert the raws to dng, and enter some metadata (creator, location, event, so on, what is valid for all the photos).
    For this i used the Adobe DNG Converter, and later Adobe Lightroom.
    Before the emergence of Lightroom I used Adobe Bridge for evaluation and sorting, and developing, but Lightroom was better in many ways (while in others it was – for me – weaker).
    Initial sorting (deleting the technically flawed or redundant photos), marking the “good” photos (about one in every ten).
    The came metadata tagging (people, location, and all information that is not valid for every photo).
    Developing of the DNG-s, usually somewhat automated, but still manually. Usually only the starred photos get really much attention.
    Creating of jpeg-s from the dng-s, with a moderate amount of sharping and noise reduction.
    At this point come cataloging, for wich i used Iview Media Pro (now it is called Microsoft expression Media). I cataloged the original files (the developed dng-s) and derivative files in separate catalogs.
    I make a backup to a separate hd, and delete the initial backups.
    After it is done, if i want to have some prints, i examine the catalog of the dng-s, mark the ones i want to print, and convert them to tiffs with no sharping and noise reduction. For noise reduction i used NeatImage, but only in the case of photos shot on ISO 400 or above. Sharpening here is a bit tricky issue, it depends on where i wanted to print my photos. I don’t like to print large quantities at home, so after a longer trip my pictures usually ended up printed in a lab. But lab printing needs different sharpening than inkjet printing (both for the different technology and for the different resolution they require). Photokit Sharpener is a great tool for this.
    After finishing i save the files as jpeg-s.
    Usually i don’t do any retouching or stuff with the photos.

    I organize my photos to two separate folder trees, one for dng-s, and one for derivatives. The folder trees are two level deep. On the lover level there are directories with a date stamp and an event or location identifier. These contain the photos. These folders are organized to DVD-r sized container folders (the name of these container folders have image id-s (DNG or derivative), number (the number of the disc in the collection) and date stamp (the date of the first folder in the container). This system makes it easy to back up my photos. Whenever a container folder gets full (its size reaches 4.3GB) i copy it to a disc (to two discs, to be proper). If i ever will use different discs (Blu ray or HDDVD), the system can remain unchanged, only the size of the containers will change.
    I usually don’t delete the photos from the hard disk, but use a separate (external) hard drive to store them. If i want to have a photo for something, i don’t have to look for the dvd-s.

    I have learnt much from the book of Peter Krogh: The DAM Book, Digital Asset Management for Photographers.

  3. J Dickon Glanville Says:

    Thank you.

  4. dirac3000 Says:

    Hello vivosz,
    I regularly use Linux wt work (completely not-related to photography), but at home I’ve being using my windows laptop, given up the Linux tools for photography ‘workflow’.
    However lately I was wondering if there was something new around, considering maybe to give linux a try again.
    That’s how I got to your blog, I really hope that your Sagittarius efforts will give great results!
    Anyway, i am writing you to make you notice the blueMarine project: http://bluemarine.tidalwave.it/
    I haven’t got chance to try it myself, but it looks promising and seems it could be exactly what a workflow software dependant needs (I need Lightroom non-destructive editing, so far)…

  5. vivosz Says:

    Thanks for your comment.

    About two months ago I promised the author (ore one of them) of BlueMarine to give the app a test, but haven’t done so far.
    Your comment is a second sign for me, so i will take this business more seriously :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

