Loading display profiles

An article is being made on color management, I’m currently gathering the sources. But until it will be published, here is one thing to start with.

Calibration of a display, and creating a profile for it on linux is not as easy as on other operating systems. There are only a few software to calibrate a display with a colorimeter (ArgyllCMS, and LPROF as far as i know).

I borrowed a display calibrator device, but none of the above mentioned softs can deal with it. But a display profile created on an other os can be loaded on linux! As far as the display and the video card is the same, the profile will be useful.

For loading the profile, I use xcalib. The de-facto standard directory of color profiles is /usr/share/color/icc, so i copied my profile there, and after compiling xcalib, i wrote a script that loads my monitor profile. Then i added it to System/Preferences/Sessions. Every time i log in, the profile is loaded.

I know that this post is floating in the middle of an empty space yet, but soon the post on color management will make it more clear .

edit on 17.10.2007.

Somehow on my new hardware (AMD X2 64) and with gutsy, i was unable to compile xcalib. It is likely to be some 64 bit issue, but anyway, i use Dispwin now, what is part of  ArgyllCMS. I downloaded the argyll precompiled executables, copied the dispwin to /usr/local/bin (i don’t know much about the file system standards, maybe it is not the best place, but it works) changed the attributes of the file, and written a script that loads my profile.

8 Responses to “Loading display profiles”

  1. vivosz Says:

    Color management related articles are done (or at least for a while). More on creating and loading display profiles can be found on the third the CM post, namely: Color managenet 3 – monitor calibration

  2. Suzanne Says:

    Hi, just wanted to let you know your articles on management has been extremely helpful as I continue my migrate to Linux. Since I have only a basic knowledge of the command line, would it be possible for you to direct me on where to learn to set up a script on loading my profile automatically?

  3. vivosz Says:

    Hi!
    Im glad you’ve found my articles useful.
    On loading your profile automatically, it is very easy.
    All you have to do is create a text file as the following:
    the first line shall be: “#!/bin/bash” (without the quotation marks, naturally). This tells the system that this is a script file.
    The second line is the command that you want to issue, like “dispwin /usr/share/color/icc/myprofile.icc”.
    And the script is done. Place it somewhere in your home folder, don’t forget to give it an executable attribute.
    For the system to execute it automatically at logon, you have to add it to the session manager. If your desktop environment is Gnome, then write “gnome-session-properties” to the terminal, and this will bring up the session manager. On ubuntu it also can be found in System->Preferences->Sessions menu.
    You shall add an entry there, with a name of your choice, and for the command, locate the script file you’ve created.
    And you are done.
    Hope you will find it useful too!
    All the best!

    A little addition:
    How To Make Desktop Applications Start Automatically After Login (GNOME)

  4. feureau Says:

    hi, I’ve been looking left and right for a color calibrates solution for ubuntu x64. I’m glad to know that at least it can be done.
    I have similar issue, the xcalib won’t work on my system although I have (although, apperantly) succeeded in compiling xcalib for my x64. And I had worse experience trying to compile argyll.

    May I ask where did you get your precompiled argyll from? I can’t seem to find any place that provides precompiled argyll.

    Thank you very much. 🙂

  5. vivosz Says:

    I downloaded the precompiled linux binaries from the argyll website 🙂 It is not for 64, but still works.

    http://www.argyllcms.com/downloadlinux.html

    All the best!

  6. feureau Says:

    Oh, I thought they only work on the x86 system. D’oh! 😀
    Thanks, I’ll give it a shot.

  7. Forrest Says:

    Is there any good software for profile editing in mac ?
    ColorSync is only used to view profile, and even no preview.

  8. Niki Belfy Says:

    Fantastic write up, I will be sure to save this post in my StumbleUpon account. Have a awesome evening.


Leave a Reply

